Welcome to the official site of the International 470 Class Association
North Sails | New Zealand
Olimpic Sails
Tender One
Zaoli Sails
Rig Blitz

09 May 2012

Barcelona In Port Race - Ten Boat Head to Head

This news belongs to
2012 470 World Championship

Showcasing the world’s best 470 sailors, the Barcelona In Port Race will bring ten 470 Men and ten 470 Women teams head to head in a 10-boat race off right in the heart of the city of Barcelona on Saturday 12 May 2012.

This invitational event will see sailors competing in an exciting short format race around a four mark race course in Port Vell in the centre of Barcelona – in a one race decider. The target time is 15 minutes maximum per race around a fixed mark track, with only the start line changing depending on the wind direction.

Racing is scheduled to get underway at 1200 hours for the 470 Men and 1215 hours for the 470 Women.

The line up is:

470 Men 470 Women
ARG - Lucas Calabrese/Juan De La Fuente
AUT - Matthias Schmid/Florian Reichstadter
CRO - Sime Fantela/Igor Marenic
ESP - Onan Barreiros/Aaron Sarmiento
FIN - Joonas Lindgren/Niklas Lindgren
GER - Ferdinand Gerz/Patrick Follmann
GRE - Panagiotis Mantis/Pavlos Kagialis
ISR - Gideon Kliger/Eran Sela
JPN - Ryunosuke Harada/Yugo Yoshida
USA - Stuart Mcnay/Graham Biehl
ARG - Fernanda Sesto/Consuelo Monsegur
BRA - Fernanda Oliveira/Ana Luiza Barbachan
FRA - Camille Lecointre/Mathilde Géron
ISR - Gil Cohen/Vered Buskila
ITA - Giulia Conti/Giovanna Micol
JPN - Ai Kondo/Wakako Tabata
NZL - Jo Aleh/Olivia Powrie
SLO -Tina Mrak/Teja Cerne
SWE - Lisa Ericson/Astrid Gabrielsson
USA - Amanda Clark/Sarah Lihan

The race will be commented live with onshore entertainment in the build up to racing for spectators.

Port Vell is situated at the end of Las Ramblas, which is Barcelona’s central street stretching for 1.2 kilometres from Placa de Catalunya down to the port and racing venue. Accompanied by professional commentary, this unique event is set to attract numerous spectators and sailing fans.

Teams will receive prizes including trophies, Swatch watches and commemorative bibs.